Local Government Elections

Local Government Elections:


The next Local Government Elections will be held in September 2024.  The next election will see Walcha with no Wards system and therefore all nominations for the 8 Councillor positions will be voted and elected by the community.

The NSW Electoral Commission website has a lot of information regarding elections including verifying your enrolment.

In Walcha, the Mayor is elected by the Councillors at the first Council meeting following their election.  The Mayor is elected every second year by the Councillors in September.  The Mayor was last elected in 2021 for 19 months only - until the next election in September 2023.

Current Elected Members:

Walcha is currently divided into four wards where Councillors are elected from each ward by electors enrolled in that ward. Our Councillors from the 2021 election by Wards are:

Ward A:

Clr Mark Berry and Clr Gregory Schaefer

Ward B:

Clr Eric Noakes - Mayor and Clr Anne-Marie Pointing 

Ward C:

Clr Nena Hicks and Clr Scott Kermode - Deputy Mayor

Ward D:

Clr Aurora Reilly - and Clr Kevin Ferrier


Contact Details

Register to Vote

Are you enrolled to vote at the LG Elections? It is compulsory to vote in the election if you are eligible to do so. Information about how to enrol can be found here

Read More

Declaration of Results for 2021 LG Elections

As per the Local Government (General) Regulation 2005 - NSW Legislation, Cl356(3)(a), after declaring the election the returning officer must display the written declaration in a conspicuous position at the relevant Council. Council have created ...

Read More